Doggy Mine Fields in the Park!

Dear Councilman Midkiff,

I use Washington’s Park system to walk each day and take different walking trails each day. There are some people who also walk their pets but do not pick up the waste of these pets. In some of our Parks are bag stations for those who forget to bring something to clean up after their pets.

What I have noticed is there are a lot of people who do not pick up the waste, and then some little children just happen to step in this stuff. What I would like to know if the Police have given out any tickets to those unthoughtful people who leave this stuff in our Parks? If so how many tickets or warnings have been enforced by the Police. I know the Police have more important things to do then just look at these pets and owners but I have taken Pictures at the river front of the Pet station and within 3 feet there were 4 piles of dog waste.

I have also reminded people who leave this waste that it is against the City to do that and could result in a fine up to $500. A few do clean up the waste after I offer them a bag but most just give me a dirty look and even a few say so thing I will not repeat.

Please let me know about the results of your findings.

Thanks,
(Name withheld by request)
Washington Resident

Published in: on March 16, 2009 at 4:04 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://guymidkiff.wordpress.com/2009/03/16/doggy-mine-fields-in-the-park/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

