Just Another Reporter?

2-3-09

Last night, during city council, I glanced over at Ed Pruneau, Missourian Managing Editor, feverishness scribbling away on his legal pad. I will be upfront and say I don’t agree with some of what Ed writes but conversely, I do agree with most of what he reports.

But this is not my point. My point is one of consistency, dogged determination and endurance. For example, I was doing a topic search on the eMissourian when I realized Ed had been reporting – consistently – since as far back as I could search – 1999. And while I can’t say for sure, I would suspect he has been doing this beat for much longer.

Ed is a professional reporter and I think is talented enough to work for the New York Times (heaven forbid), if he would ever be so inclined. The community and I must respect the shear depth and breath of his work. Will some of the council and I sling stones at him from time to time? Yes, we most certainly will, when we think he gets it wrong. But this should not lead one to believe I do not have considerable respect for what he does. His boss buys ink by the tonne, I replace my laser printer cartridge once a year. The only way to defend my positions is in council and on this blog.

Keep up the good work Ed. Continue to be objective and call them like you see them. This is all one can ask for at the end of the day.

(Scroll down for comments on this post.)

Published in: on February 3, 2009 at 8:25 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://guymidkiff.wordpress.com/2009/02/03/news-papaer-folks/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Pruneau? Are you trying to butter him off so he lays off or are you trying to piss him off? I have known that bear forever and he has been at the Missourian much longer than 1999. Get your facts straight. You are starting to sound like a reporter.

    New comment on your post #395 “Just Another Reporter? ”
    Author : Patrick Gavitt (IP: 64.218.68.130 , 64-218-68-130.emissourian.com)
    E-mail : gavitt@milford.net

    • Patrick,

      Thanks for your comments. I always appreciate constructive criticism. BTW, you may not have read the part where I said, “And while I canโ€™t say for sure, I would suspect he has been doing this beat for much longer” so I think I did get my facts straight. Also, your IP address sure looks familiar. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Guy Midkiff

  2. I was busted. Just a lil playful criticism and a dig at my buddy Ed.

  3. No problem, a sense of humor is an admirable trait.

    (Dang, he is older than I thought!) ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

